Download Visitors Guide

Smoky Mountain Towns

The seven counties that make up the Smokies in Western North Carolina offer unique and diverse landscapes for outdoor activities.

Clay County

Clay County (Hayesville/Brasstown) boasts scenic hikes, the John C. Campbell Folk School and Lake Chatuge for fishing and kayaking.

Visit Hayesville & Brasstown

Macon County

Macon County (Franklin/Highlands, Cashiers) offers a wide range of outdoor activities, including the Appalachian Trail, Whitewater Falls, and mountain biking in the Tsali Recreation Area.

Visit Franklin
Visit Highlands, Cashiers, Glenville & Scaly Mountain

Haywood County

Haywood County (Waynesville/Maggie Valley) is home to the Cataloochee Valley, where you can spot Elk foraging through mountain fields.

Visit Waynesville & Maggie Valley

Swain County

Swain County (Nantahala, Bryson City) offers river tubing and whitewater adventure in the Nantahala Gorge horseback riding, camping, hiking along the Appalachian Trail and waterfalls.

Visit Bryson City
Visit Nantahala
Visit Cherokee

Graham County

Graham County (Fontana/Robbinsville) is home to the magnificent Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest, and Lake Santeetlah where you can fish, paddle, and camp in a serene setting.

Learn More About Fontana & Robbinsville

Cherokee County

Cherokee County (Murphy/Andrews) offers access to the Appalachian Trail, as well as the Ocoee River for whitewater rafting and kayaking.

Visit Murphy & Andrews

Jackson County

Finally, Jackson County (Sylva, Balsam, Dillsboro, Cullowhee) boasts scenic hikes in the Nantahala National Forest, as well as the Tuckasegee River for fishing, tubing, and kayaking.

Visit Sylva, Balsam, Dillsboro, Cullowhee
Visit Cherokee

No matter what your outdoor interests may be, Western North Carolina has something for everyone. So, pack your bags and come explore the natural beauty of this stunning region!

Mountain Town News